Governing Board

The Governing Board of the Friends of the New York State Library consists of a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, five elected Directors and four ex-officio Directors. Current members of the Friends Board:


Jane Schneider, President
Clesson Bush, Vice-President
Mary Redmond, Secretary/Treasurer


Jean G. Burns*
Arden Leach*
Barbara Mladinov
Norman S. Rice, Director Emeritus


Bernard M. Margolis, State Librarian
Loretta C. Ebert, Research Library Director
Carol A. Desch, Coordinator of Statewide Services – Division of Library Development

*Terms of Officers and Directors end March 31, 2015, except those with an asterisk by their name will end March 31, 2014; terms of ex-officio members correspond to their tenure on those positions.